13/365

img_3109

I survived a wide reaching reduction in force at work today.  Every time my phone rang, I jumped.  While my closest colleague and I are still employed, our team lost two members – one laid off and one re-org’ed to another group.  One of my closest friends was laid off but she has a great attitude. 

The day has been very long.  This afternoon my cell phone rang and it was my boss.  My heart sank but it was about a meeting to let us know what had happened.  While there was relief, there was also sadness.  Hard to be truly happy on a day like today.

So, I am safe for today and this round is over.  I offer these prayers for all impacted today – and that means everyone at my company that did not stick up their hand and say “Pick me, pick me!”  There were a few folks in that category and for them I wish them much success and happiness as they chose a new beginning.

Prayer on Being Made Redundant

“Redundant” – the word says it all –

“useless, unnecessary, without purpose, surplus to requirements.”

Thank you, Heavenly Father, that in the middle of the sadness, the anger, the uncertainty, the pain, I can talk to you.

Hear me as I cry out in confusion,

help me to think clearly,

and calm my soul.

As life carries on,

may I know your presence with me

each and every day.

And as I look to the future,

help me to look for fresh opportunities, for new directions.

Guide me by your Spirit,

and show me your path,

Through Jesus, the Way, the Truth and the Life. Amen.

 

Prayer for Those Remaining in the Workplace

Life has changed:

Colleagues have gone – redundant, out of work.

Suddenly, what seemed so secure is now so very fragile.

It’s hard to know what I feel:

Sadness, certainly,

Guilt, almost, at still having a job to go to,

And fear of the future:

Who will be next?

How will I cope with the increased pressure of work?

Lord Jesus, in the midst of this uncertainty, help me to keep going:

To work to the best of my ability,

Taking each day at a time,

And taking time each day to walk with you

For you are the Way, the Truth and the Life. Amen.

3 thoughts on “13/365

  1. baby prayers wont keep your job but nice try, we’re all in this together and we are getting screwed, not by god but by His greedy little servants, keep your prayers for revolution… ciao

  2. It is sad that there are some people who miss the point of prayer and a relationship with God. Prayer doesn’t help anyone keep anything – that’s not the point of prayer. I hope and pray that those who seem to have lost all hope will learn that in their own lives. That’s why we have hope and that’s why I have faith.

    I agree, “His greedy little servants” have caused the problems of today – and by that I hope you include the people who bought a house too big for their budget and the folks who just spend and then walk away from huge credit card bills because they want to have the biggest TV and the list goes on. One of the greatest gifts He has given us is Free Will – that is what has gotten us where we are today!

    If prayers and expressions of faith are not your thing then this is not the blog for you. I chose to post this comment because I do not want to exclude opinions that are contrary to mine. Opinions are like – well, you know the rest… Now, I will pray the pray that never fails…

Leave a Reply

