6 months is not that long

Mum has lived at GSP for 6 months and in that time she has gotten to know many folks and through her I’ve gotten to know many folks (at least by sight).

Something I’d not really thought about the passage of time in a place where the residents have seen much time pass.  K, a gentleman we met many months ago, passed away about three weeks ago.  His health was in steady and swift decline soon after we met him.  The doctors said it was bone cancer and there was nothing that could be done.

In the last couple of weeks I’ve noticed another man, G is using a walker to get around.  I’m not sure if this is as a result of an incident/injury or maybe this is his “new normal.”

I’d not thought about the fact that a community of folks “getting on in years” is going to present what seems to me to be very visible signs of  declines in health.  You might think that so many older folks you’d not notice but I think I notice more – I notice those I know and, well, I just hadn’t thought about it and it makes me pause…  that’s all.

Leave a Reply

