Ya just do

J is fighting cancer and cancer is  fighting J – we all know who we want to win.  A small cadre has formed to sit up nights with J or just be there should he need something so he and his wife can sleep.  M needs to be able to work and take care of the house and kids and dog.  Its a small thing that we can do to sit up one night so they can sleep easier.

The first night when J called me and asked me to come, I stayed up all night and M slept.  The goal was achieved.  Later, talking to D who was on call for the coming night she asked “How did you stay up all night?”  I said “Ya just do.”  That’s what it means to be part of a family – and we are part of J & M’s family and they a part of ours.  It’s just what you do.

One blog I read often features wonderful photography (which I how I found it) but today’s message is the big take away – that we all matter and we need to take care of ourselves so we can take care of each other.

“So, therefore, it appears we each have a mission, should we choose to accept it: at some point today, let’s all take some time to take care of ourselves.  Do something that is good for you.  I’ll let you decide what that is.  But just do it.  Do it for yourself.  Do it for the people you love.”   Karen Walrond

She also displayed this video (click the link, I can’t embed the video for some reason) – I love it!  Have a good smile!

World Science Festival 2009: Bobby McFerrin Demonstrates the Power of the Pentatonic Scale from World Science Festival on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

