Daybook – Nov 17

FOR TODAY… from Ali’s Daybook (written around Noon on Nov 17)

Outside my window… I see bags of leaves (in the paper/mulch-able bags) lined along the sidewalk and evidence of a somewhat unusual northwest breeze – which explains the cooler temps today

I am thinking… about how life has stood still in so many ways for the past few months, and I really need to re-engage – starting with picking up the mess that is my house

I am thankful for… the community to which I belong – we have held each other up and allowed each other to crumble as needed and turned around and picked each other up again.  I do not see that this cycle will end soon but it will lessen as the days continue and life continues

I am wearing… my work at home uniform – jeans and a tee shirt, socks (the weather’s getting colder), and my slippers (I wore hard shoes yesterday!)

I am remembering… my friend Jeff, his family, the joy and sadness of this past weekend

I am going… no where until FedEx arrives! YES, another delivery from Apple!! A wireless remote.  Not sure why I need it, but I’m sure I’ll figure that out later

I am reading… still working on My Life in France by Julia Child (I read painfully slowly and am easily distracted), The Year of Living Biblically – there’s a small book group at church – very low key, very my style

I am hoping… that we made the right decision to not go north for Thanksgiving

On my mind… I need to pick up my camera again.  In the last two weeks, I put a lot of things down and they need to be picked up (not the least of which is my house but whatever)

Noticing that… I really don’t like the shorter daylight hours.  Really messes me up when it’s lighter later, I forget to stop working – you know, work until the sun goes down

Pondering these words… “Be still and know that I am God”

From the kitchen… I made the “famous” Newcomers Dinner Salad for a dinner last night with neighbors.  Got to meet new ones and have fun with ones I’ve know for a while.  It was a celebration of the years the elder member of the townhouse has lived here – she’s the last original owner – been here about 40 years.  She is moving to Goodwin House in December which will be great for her – no more laundry two flights down and the other challenges of living in a three level house.  We will miss her, but the move it good for her.

Around the house… the cleaning lady is here – talking on her cell phone and dusting and vacuuming- more talking than dusting right now.  Maybe we need a law about that – no cell phone while dustin and cleaning my house.  I guess I can make that law, it’s my house

One of my favorite things~ making my coffee in the morning.  It was imported from Seattle, hand carried by a dear friend who asked, “Is it really that much better?”  To which I responded, “I just really like it.”

From my picture journal…

One thought on “Daybook – Nov 17

  1. Pingback: 5 Things

Leave a Reply

