Brisket and friends

I prepared a brisket as I was this month’s host for our Foyer Group (a small social group from church). I saw the recipe on a food blog and it just sounded yummy.  I’d never cooked a brisket. Not sure Id ever even eaten brisket before. Te recipe was in essence making a barbeque sauce from scratch and slow cooking overnight in a Crock-pot.  I think I just like saying “Brisket.”

Either the folks in my group were very kind or it really was pretty good! I thought it was pretty good. Great flavor. Perfectly cooked – falling apart but not disintegrated into nothing. I have leftovers which make me happy.

I took a photo of the table before dinner because it is not often that I set a table for eight. Table looked pretty nice. Dishwasher was loaded and running within about 40 minutes of folks leaving the house. Got the rest of the dishes washed and they are air-drying. Table cloth and napkins will go in the wash tomorrow.

All in all a successful evening and a darned good brisket. I shall cook one again! And I’m getting a bigger Crock-pot so I can cook bigger things. I borrowed one this time (thanks C&D) – I must own a bigger one. How much chili can I cook in a really big Crock-pot!?!? Oh, yum!

Leave a Reply

