Late on Election Night

I hate Election Night. I hate watching the returns, so i don’t. I hate that we are a society that is so hell bent on blaming the other guy instead of taking responsibility for our own actions and getting things done. I think elections and Election Night brings out the worst in people.
“We won!” We who? Unless you ran for office, you didn’t win anything! Your candidate may have won. You may have worked on a campaign but YOU didn’t win anything!
“We beat them!” Beat who? Who are “them/they?” that is usually saved for bad guys who’ve done something wrong – they stole my car, they ran a red light – you know, THEM!
I’m here to tell you folks, we’re all in this together, like it or not and if we don’t start acting like it and working things out – we ain’t seen nothing as far as bad times go! Maybe it’s always been like this, but it ain’t good.
I guess what I’ve done here is outline why I HATE POLITICS and most people who have anything to do with them. Ok, I don’t really hate the people, but don’t start talking politics with me, I’ll just go find something else to do.
I don’t really have a point to make I just hope folks figure it out and actually work together because working together, this place would just be even more awesome than it already is but then – who would we blame and for what?

One thought on “Late on Election Night

  1. Here, Here….I hear more “we showed him” and “we’re going to get him now” than I hear “okay, now we hav to work together”. If only there was a way to elect non-career politicians into political offices!

Leave a Reply

