Wonder – Dec 4

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

So, Wikipedia defines Wonder as “an emotion comparable to surprise that people feel when perceiving something rare or unexpected.” Yup, I had to look it up (I sincerely hope one of the prompts is about how we will learn to get things wrong, not strive for perfection to the point of crazy-making or something along those lines – but I digress).

This year I took a photography class/workshop. I learned SO much about my camera and what it can do and that has only added to what I’ve been able to produce through my camera. Believe it or not that was unexpected for me.

The workshop was amazing. There are some very motivated women wanting to make a living with photography and I’m sure they will be successful. What this workshop confirmed for me is that photography is something I love, my way of looking at the world and I do not (right now) want to make a living at it because I do not want it to be work.

I have a degrees in Education. I have never taught for money. I decided, while finishing my pre-student teaching, that I did not want to teach for a living. I love working with kids. I do work with kids at my church but I did not want it to be work. It is for the joy of it and for me – – just like my photography.

Will I always feel this way? Maybe not. Maybe when I retire I’ll decide that a little money for taking pictures is okay, but for right now – – looking through the camera lens brings a sense of wonder upon which I cannot put a price.

Leave a Reply

