Fiction

I just finished the first fiction book I’ve read in quite a while. I’ve been on a non-fiction track, reading about people’s journeys. I decided I needed some fluff, so I picked up some “chick-lit.” The book was good but I really wanted a fairy tale ending and it didn’t really have one; it had a realistic ending.Life has realistic endings. I guess I was hoping to avoid a real life ending.

I was in the San Francisco Bay Area over the weekend for work. I worked the swing shift so my mornings were free. On Sunday I found myself at 1 Infinite Loop, Cupertino, CA. The Apple Campus. There is a very nice spontaneous memorial that popped up when Steve Jobs died. It is still there, two weeks later (I must say, the flowers are smelling quite ripe by now). When I got there, I was the only person but before I left a car with four Japanese young men showed up. By the time I left the campus, a couple of hundred people came and went including a bus full of Asian students.

I walked around the campus a bit and saw “The Company Store” so I pulled out my phone to find out what this is – it is the employee store for Apple employees. It is open to the public and they sell Apple branded items that can only be purchased in this store. It is the only place in the world that sells these things. Well, they are open Monday through Friday so yes, I went back on Monday!

It was very cool, below are a couple of photos of tee shirts I did not buy but they were fun. I have posted a photo of what I did buy – yes, I am a self-professed Apple geek. I bought my first computer an Apple Computer Macintosh (with money borrowed from and repaid to my parents). It was a Mac Classic before it became the classic. It booked from disk,the programs ran off disks. It was “portable” because it came with a carry case. It weighed about 30 lbs. I wish I could remember what I did with it; I think I sold it.

Anyhow, Steve Jobs was real life. My Mum was real life. Jeff was real life. I guess I was looking for an escape with a fairy tale ending instead of a real life.

p.s. You can click on the pictures to enlarge them, a couple of the are worth it.

p.p.s. I’m going to try another book, not sure which way it will go – fiction or non-fiction. We’ll see.

p.p.p.s. I really wish the jet lag was done with me because I am certainly done with it.

One thought on “Fiction

  1. wow. wanna do the forum with me next week on invitation? this stuff is great. what does it tell us about our journeys? (nevermind, I know you can’t…but wanted to ask anyway!)

    so glad you got here…who knew?

    c

Leave a Reply

