Mid-August

Book Group at church discussed our latest book – The End of the Affair by Graham Greene. That book was painful to read until I got to page 50. Around page 40, I wrote to our group facilitator and said “Please don’t make me read this book!” She said she was not going to make me read it but jump ahead to Book 3. Well, I didn’t and once I got to page 50 some interesting stuff happened and the rest of the book was pretty good.

Our discussion was very interesting. We had a large group that included a couple of folks from outside the church – they’d found the book group on the neighborhood listserv/website. 

Our next book is one I’e wanted to read – The Faith Club. Three women – A Muslim, A Christian and a Jew (walked into a bar) – got together to write a book for their children to explain the connections between the three religions. Many are surprised to learn of the connections. I knew about them but have learned so much   more about them. Reading about the relationship of these three women is fascinating. There was lots of conflict thus lots of growth.

Leave a Reply

