Coincidence? I think not.

I don’t remember where I read this but someone said “Coincidence is when God chooses to remain anonymous.”  I’m not sure that I believe that, or maybe since I read it I look more closely for God in my life.

S and her mom B have been on my mind (and in my heart) since I returned from vacation on Sunday.  B had been sick and losing her battle with cancer.  All day today especially, they were both on my mind – a feeling that would not leave me – so I prayed, a lot.  B died early this afternoon – surrounded by family.  So this was no coincidence that they were in my heart today – my job today was to pray – and I did.

I think I knew B before I knew S.  I met her on a tour to Russia almost 14 years ago.  She had a head of red hair and I remember when I met her I thought she was a cool lady.  I sort of watched out for her on the trip.  I helped her with her bags some and walked with her at times and just kept an eye out.  During the trip and over the years I called her “Lady” (not like Jerry Lewis!) that’s just the name I called her instead of B.  She always had a smile for me, we sometimes reminisce about the trip to Russia or I’d just walk up give her a squeeze, she’d squeeze me back and that was it.  I will miss those squeezes and her smile.

I will continue to pray for S and her family as they begin their lives without B – she will be missed – by many.

 

One thought on “Coincidence? I think not.

Leave a comment